Welcome to the

Media Networks Division

The ZVEI Media Networks Division is the business lobby group and forum of the leading manufacturers of broadcasting transmission and broadband communication systems.

Since its foundation in the year 1952, the division has represented the economic, technology and environmental policy interests of its member companies at the national and international level towards politics, standardisation bodies and other parties in the value-creation chain. These include network operators, the trade and the public.

The Media Networks Division supports the digitalisation of broadcast networks and their expansion into interactive multimedia networks. The prime consideration is the equal positioning of the satellite, cable and terrestrial transmission channels.

Rapid technological progress continually faces the industry with new challenges. The core topics are multimedia networks and their interactivity, as well as digital broadcasting.

Subject of the division

The work of the division focuses on the following common subjects:

  • Regulatory requirements
    • Market research
    • Exhibition policy
    • National and international standardisation
    • Technology policy
    • Quality and environmental requirements.

The objective is to develop solutions for all these subjects for the benefit of the member companies.

Our strategic subjects are:

  • Conversion from analog to digital
    • IP
    • HDMI
    • HDTV
    • Triple Play.


Opinion making within the division takes place in different working committees as below. Here, the common objectives and positions are formulated. The results are communicated by the division within the ZVEI and to other institutions, and therefore generate added value. Close partnership relations exist especially with the Consumer Electronics Division in the ZVEI.


  • Technical Commission with the following sub-working groups:
    • Working group “Declaration of Conformity”


Chairman: Herbert Strobel (ASTRO Strobel Kommunikationssysteme GmbH)
Vice-Chairman: Axel Sihn (Wilhelm Sihn Jr. GmbH & Co.KG)

  • Michael Franz Auer (KATHREIN Digital Systems GmbH)
  • Axel Bechler (AXING AG)
  • Matthias Dienst (Televes Deutschland GmbH)
  • Stephan Fauser (TRIAX GmbH)
  • Ulrich Kiebler (DCT Delta AG)
  • Carolin Schlüter (Polytron-Vertrieb GmbH)
  • Dr. Jürgen Seidenberg (HUBER + SUHNER Bktel GmbH)

Business office

Managing Director: Carine Chardon
Secretary: Mirjam Schäfer